CRC Exceptional Achievement Award

Nominations open for Community Relations Council Exceptional Achievement Award

The Community Relations Council is inviting nominations for the 2018/19 Exceptional Achievement Award. The prestigious award which has been given annually since 2006 will take the form of a hand-crafted sculpture designed from bronze and limestone by the artist Kate Oram.

Nominations are now open and close at 12 noon on 31st January 2019. To make your nomination please complete the Nomination Form or telephone 028 9022 7500 and ask for a form to be posted.

Nomination Forms include a section to provide background information on the nominee, outlining their contribution to peacebuilding and community relations work by reference to the following criteria:

  • Evidence of the exceptional, sustained and long-term commitment of the nominee/s to community relations work.
  • Evidence of the commitment of the nominee/s to community relations/intercultural work beyond single community across Northern Ireland and/or across the Border.
  • Influence on thinking on peace-building and community relations issues.
  • Embodiment of Community Relations Council values - fairness and justice (Equity), the peaceful celebration of variety and difference (Diversity) and the importance of sharing, trust and inclusion (Interdependence).

Please note that the Award is given to an individual, or exceptionally two individuals acting in partnership, rather than to a group.  Also, the nominee must be still living in order to receive the trophy in person.

Previous winners include Eamonn Deane, Derrick Wilson, Anne Carr, Renee Crawford and Jean Brown, Dr David Stevens, Mary Kelly, Rab McCallum and Michael Acheson, Chris O’Halloran, Maureen Hetherington, Paul McCrory, Fr Gary Donegan and Eileen Weir.

Self-nominations are not permitted. Staff and Board Members of the Community Relations Council, and their family members, are ineligible although they may nominate others.

14 December 2018