Rural Micro Capital Grant Scheme 2019

This Scheme is funded under the DAERA Tackling Rural Poverty and Social Isolation Programme.

Micro Capital grants of between £200 and £1,500 are available to rural community-led, voluntary organisations for projects tackling issues of local poverty and / or social isolation.  The total project cost must not exceed £3,000.

Projects must clearly address an issue of rural poverty and / or social isolation and applicants must provide a minimum of 15% match funding.  The scheme is being delivered by the Rural Support Networks on behalf of the Department of Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs. Application forms, guidance notes and further advice and information is available from the Rural Support Network in your council area, details below. 

Key objectives
The Rural Micro Capital Grant Scheme 2019 has been designed to:
  • Help rural community-led, voluntary groups to address local issues of access poverty, financial poverty and social isolation; and
  • Improve the lives of rural communities, and in particular the wellbeing of isolated individuals.
  • Projects must focus on one of the following three themes:

Modernisation  (of premises / assets)

  • Modernisation  (of premises / assets)
  • Information Communication Technology (ICT)
  • Health and Wellbeing
  • The Rural Micro Capital Grant Scheme 2019 will be open for applications from Monday 2 September until 4pm on Friday 27 September 2019.

For further information about the Rural Micro Capital Grant Scheme 2019, please contact the Rural Support Network for your council area. Guidance Notes and Application Forms for the Rural Micro Capital Grant Scheme 2019 can be downloaded from your local Rural Support Network websites. These are also available by e-mailing or phoning your RSN.

Antrim & Newtownabbey Borough Council, Mid & East Antrim Borough Council, Causeway Coast & Glens Borough Council
Northern Area Community Network (NACN) Tel: 028 2177 2100     e-mail:

Armagh, Banbridge & Craigavon Council
The Armagh, Down and Antrim Network (TADA) Tel: 028 3839 8888   e-mail:

Derry & Strabane Council
Rural Area Partnership in Derry (RAPID) Tel: 028 7133 7149     e-mail:

Fermanagh & Omagh Council;
Omagh Forum for Rural Associations (OFRA)  Tel: 028 8825 1559     e-mail:

Mid Ulster Council;
Cookstown and Western Shores Area Network (CWSAN) Tel: 028 8773 8845  e-mail:

Community Organisation of South Tyrone and Area (COSTA) Tel: 028 8555 6880    e-mail:

Newry, Mourne & Down Council; North Down & Ards Council;  Lisburn & Castlereagh Council
County Down Rural Community Network (CDRCN) Tel: 028 4461 2311   e-mail: